Educated by Life

It was pointed out recently that my blog shows a lack of college education, which is interesting for numerous reasons. Considering for starters the different education standards for different countries,  I finished my HSC, meaning I studied to year 11 and 12 and graduated High school twice actually because I chose to go back and do it all over again (Just the year 12 part I know what was I thinking) sadly life events such as getting kicked out of home 2 weeks before my trials and an emotional breakdown during my HSC exams on the second try meant that it didn’t go as well as I had hoped it would but such is life.(and yes there is a huge story as to what lead to such a breakdown, involving street kids moving into where I was living, having a knife waved about 2mm from my nose, being eaten out of house and home, constantly feeling ill and oh so many other things yes in short life happened and isn’t always within our control)

As posted in the previous blog I am very very much a person who learns by doing. I will admit it freely and openly I have not been educated by the world of academia but by the events, the people and the things that have shaped my life and who I am.

I could say oh I should change that but one of the best lessons I have learnt and the reason I am as creative as I am is I don’t know the rules! I can break them freely without constraint because I have not had the rules of what I am doing ingrained into my consciousness.

It’s not to say that you cannot be educated by both life and higher education or that higher learning doesn’t have its place. For me I find it to stuffy and restricted, maybe that’s my new age hippy chick side showing or maybe it is that strong sense of inner knowing that it isn’t for me.

Every ounce of wisdom and knowledge I possess about life I have learnt the hard way flying by the seat of my pants, flowing with intuition, thinking on my feet and hanging on for dear life.

Now I can hear some in from the world of academia turning their noses up as I type and that is ok.

I am emotionally educated something no amount of academic learning can teach you!

Life is an amazing adventure, a road of many paths and choices that can lead us down many many roads and I for one wouldn’t change a thing. Every event, every nail biting, hair raising moment has lead me to who I am and just in case you don’t know it yet I am simply Amazing.

I know hell of a claim right?

Let’s take a brief synopsis of where I have come from and who I am, after all some of you reading this know so little about me

Put up for adoption at age 3

Adopted father never truly wanted me (have stopped beating my brains out trying to forge a strong relationship with my Dad and he is my Dad he raised me and I love him and know in his way he loves me of that I have no doubt)

My Adopted (again she is my Mother) had her own issues and things to deal with that have at times made our relationship difficult to say the least.

Add in parents got divorced at age 12

Father moved to NZ at age 15

I chose to go to boarding school where I was more often than not tortured for a myriad of reasons and yet survived and made some amazing friends who I can still call friends today.

I have always been one of those kids who got teased and somewhat bullied at school pretty much from day one yet I have never lost my sense of kindness, compassion or my generosity of spirit or sense of humour and have always been able to laugh at myself and the crazy predicaments I find myself in at times.

Had to fight to be able to and pay for myself to do year 11 & 12 including uniforms, books and all school excursions (thank goodness for austudy) and pay board to my mum.

Kicked out of home at Eighteen and a half

Life threatened by street kids at 19 as well as a full emotional breakdown.

Add to this stumbling on my spiritual journey just prior to turning 20. The age most people are out partying, drinking and just having fun I began the journey of self discovery instead.

Survived and strengthened by two emotionally abusive long term relationships. (Both very different and both one after the other taking their toll on my self esteem and self worth)

As for this year you can scroll back and read all that for yourselves.

Now you have a very brief and somewhat small picture of what makes me Amazing.

We all have our problems to overcome. Some would say we all have our crosses to bear, however I am a big believer in dealing with problems as they arise and leaving them in the past where they belong rather than carrying them into the present and the future. Not an easy task to accomplish it takes a lot of hard work to deal with the ghosts of the past. To choose to live freely right here right now in this moment.

We are all Amazing in our own unique special way. I have not overcome some of the amazingly horrendous burdens other people I know have, and in so many ways my life has been peachy compared to many many others. I had an idyllic childhood in a wonderful neighbourhood, a loving family and I have much to be thankful for. I have made peace with the journey that has lead me to where I am today. All I can wish for those who read this is that you can make peace with your life journey thus far as we all venture forth into the maze of life to see what a new dawn will bring.

Till next we meet on life’s journey may you revel in your personal power and realise book smart, emotionally smart or both YOU ARE AMAZING!

In love and light

Amanda

About heavenlyimaginings

A crafter from the time I was a small child. My love of crafting has developed into a passion for making Artist Original Bears, Scrapbooking, making fascinators and hair accessories, as well as dabbling in other bits and pieces such as making the occasional small bag. I craft on a budget. Try and reuse and recycle where I can (I wish I lived closer to a big reverse cycle garbage type place). In truth I play when I craft. It is such an adventure. Often do not spend time looking for tutorials and tips online preffering to meander though in my own way. After all if you do not know the rules then you have no problems breaking all of them. Have to be honest and say I truly love being pushed out of my creative comfort zone, as it is in those moments that you have to stretch yourself and your imagination that often you create the most amazing works of art. Also passionate about Spirituality. I discovered my psychic gifts at age 19 and have walked along the spiritual path for 19 years now.
This entry was posted in Heavenly Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. kloppenmum says:

    Book smarts are over-rated. It’s real living that counts…and you’ve done spades of that. Emotional intelligence is the key, and many over-educated people are surely lacking in that. Give me an emotionally intelligent uneducated person over an over educated immature person any day.

Leave a Reply

