A new year has begun

 

A brand new year is here and whilst I know 2010 was one of the hardest of my life I would not change it.

Anyone who has read my blog for a while will have a small snippet of my year. Some of the challenges, such as being single in what seems like an endless sea of creepy men, the bear show disaster and other such challenges but out of the darkness comes the light from these things I gained a stronger sense of who I am, a faith in myself and my decisions and confidence to love myself for who and what I am FAT and ALL!!!

I love that there is a new years revolution happening and I am a part of it because it is something I believe very strongly in, I have two beautiful nieces who deserve to be happy and feel beautiful no matter their size, shape or hair colour as all women and young women deserve to.

So I urge anyone reading this to join the revolution! Check out the following links to learn more about Health at Any Size! And begin the journey to loving the skin you are in!

http://2011revolutions.blogspot.com/

And a PDF with ways you can start this amazing journey

http://firstpersonpluralweb.com/HAESInspire.pdf

Change begins with how we see ourselves and seeps into the very fabric of society. No one can know the personal challenges a person faces or what journey or circumstances have lead them to where they are health wise and often I am sure we assume a great deal about people and their habits behind closed doors.

It may shock you to know that I only make cheesecake once a year at Christmas time, or that I cook most of my meals from scratch, don’t eat oodles of bread, butter or use much oil in my cooking but I also don’t stop myself enjoying junk food on occasion I am sure there are people who look at my size and assume I eat nothing but pre processed and packaged foods and oodles of them to boot. I have been told many a time by slimmer friends I often eat better than they do and oftentimes less than they do. I can’t really judge on what others do as I am my own person and I tend to go with the flow of what feels right on the day rather than making a huge production or feeling guilty or dieting. I have spent the last 8years changing my everyday diet and eating healthier to the point 2010 saw me cooking oodles of meals from scratch, rediscovering my love of creative cooking and having fun with new ingredients as well as discovering some old favourite’s  and I have no plans for this to stop now there is a new year.

My Goals for last year (I don’t do resolutions just goals) were to work on my health and getting to the bottom of some of my non size related health issues (still a work in progress), make 52 bears (I got to 36) and to regain my self esteem and self confidence after two long term relationships took their toll.

I have made inroads but none of my goals bar the bears are short term things and they will of course take more time so they have also become goals for this year as well. I am determined to become the change I want to be rather than waiting for change to come to me.

This year I have set goals to finish my freelance journalism course, get on top of things that slide when I am too sick to do them, and to have another amazing creative and productive year in fact I have been working on some great pendants and can’t wait to be able to share them with you all (sadly having problems uploading pics from the camera at the moment).

I am looking forward to playing and learning new skills. On that note I have decided to turn my focus with my bears to the minis this year, more from a financial standpoint than anything as I have found some excellent sources of joints and eyes on ebay that mean I can do small orders to keep me going for a while without having the huge expense of a bigger order although I will have that some point in the not too distant future as I am down to my last bag of stuffing and need mohair for a wedding bear commission which I am extremely excited about creating as it’s a medieval gown and so something completely new for me to try.

I always feel a new year holds with it the magic of a book yet to be written. I cannot wait to see what adventures unfold for not only myself this year but my friends and family.

The lessons of the last year I hope have been learnt and learnt well 2011 is a time for moving forward, for fun and friendship may your year be blessed with much love, laughter, joy and abundance.

Till next we meet on life’s journey

In love and light

Amanda

About heavenlyimaginings

A crafter from the time I was a small child. My love of crafting has developed into a passion for making Artist Original Bears, Scrapbooking, making fascinators and hair accessories, as well as dabbling in other bits and pieces such as making the occasional small bag. I craft on a budget. Try and reuse and recycle where I can (I wish I lived closer to a big reverse cycle garbage type place). In truth I play when I craft. It is such an adventure. Often do not spend time looking for tutorials and tips online preffering to meander though in my own way. After all if you do not know the rules then you have no problems breaking all of them. Have to be honest and say I truly love being pushed out of my creative comfort zone, as it is in those moments that you have to stretch yourself and your imagination that often you create the most amazing works of art. Also passionate about Spirituality. I discovered my psychic gifts at age 19 and have walked along the spiritual path for 19 years now.
This entry was posted in Heavenly Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new year has begun

  1. One of your best posts yet, Amanda. I too agree this year arrived full of great expectations and for me–the sky is the limit and nothing can hold me back but my own self-doubt so, OUT with that! Here’s to you, and me and everything that 2011 holds in store for us! Cheers!!!

  2. Raivenne says:

    Bravo, Amanda! I agree this is definitely one of your best posts here. I look forward to sharing more of the journey as the goals, hopes and wishes of 2011 unfold.
    *clinking my champagne glass also*
    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

