Peoples is Peoples

As Pete from Muppets take Manhattan says repeatedly throughout the movie. A recent podcast from Nerd Nation also bought this phrase to the forefront of my mind.

I grew up in a very 70’s suburban neighbourhood. Whilst it was not the norm to have loads of multicultural friends I do remember having some. Not only this I was never raised to look at someone and say oh you’re a different colour to me we can’t play or be friends. It just would never have occurred to me that the colour of someone’s skin or their Culture could be a barrier to our friendship in fact this attitude has stayed with me my whole life. I would far rather let the person someone is speak for them rather than their looks or sexual orientation (but that is skipping ahead)

It wasn’t until a discussion a few years ago that I began to realise how different that is from most people. Perhaps it was more that I never heard degrading things about other people growing up, or that my parents were well adjusted people who did not discriminate.

I truly have no idea where this comes from. I just know it is a huge part of who I am.

Nerd Nations recent show was on Diversity in Fandom-Gay creators and fans and this got me thinking about certain things. It amazes me in this day and age that the world is still guilty of discrimination, be it racial, sexual, or even size.

What amazes me even more is that with the internet people feel free to voice ignorance and hatred as if it is pure fact. You would think society as a whole would learn that Hate only creates more hate and negativity. It does not solve, or fix problems. It is destructive and hinders our progress.

I remember when a friend told me someone I grew up with was Gay, and how much furore it created on the bands forum, the is he or isn’t he question before it was widely known. The thing is whatever someone’s sexual orientation does not impact their talent. Nor should it take away from the enjoyment of their gifts. If your fandom is based purely on the shallow assumption someone is straight, then you really are not a true fan.

My reaction when told honestly was so, that does not stop him from being a childhood friend or make me think less of him as a person. I have adopted an American daughter one of whom is a Lesbian, does not change how I feel about her in the least. She is happy and in love, she is a wonderful person, and she deserves every happiness. I love her dearly and that does not change just because someone is gay, straight, a different culture or a Martian.

A good person is a good person. So it goes back to what Pete say’s in Muppets take Manhattan “Peoples is Peoples”.

For a world that is more enlightened than ever it is time each of us stood up and said ENOUGH!

To show respect and curtsy to all those we encounter. Imagine the freedom to be who you truly are without fear, reservation or judgement because we lived in a world where all shades of all sorts of people were accepted based on who we are as people rather than external factors or parts of our nature.

We don’t all have to agree. Diversity is one of life’s most amazing gifts. Diversity gives us the chance to learn and grow.

What I want is a world where no matter your sexual orientation, your size, or culture we are all treated with love and respect. We all have the same rights and where the positive things are celebrated far far more than the negative things.

A girl can dream can’t she?

 

Till next we meet on life’s journey may you become more accepting of people you see as different to you and may you embrace compassion for others.

 

In Love and Light

Amanda

About heavenlyimaginings

A crafter from the time I was a small child. My love of crafting has developed into a passion for making Artist Original Bears, Scrapbooking, making fascinators and hair accessories, as well as dabbling in other bits and pieces such as making the occasional small bag. I craft on a budget. Try and reuse and recycle where I can (I wish I lived closer to a big reverse cycle garbage type place). In truth I play when I craft. It is such an adventure. Often do not spend time looking for tutorials and tips online preffering to meander though in my own way. After all if you do not know the rules then you have no problems breaking all of them. Have to be honest and say I truly love being pushed out of my creative comfort zone, as it is in those moments that you have to stretch yourself and your imagination that often you create the most amazing works of art. Also passionate about Spirituality. I discovered my psychic gifts at age 19 and have walked along the spiritual path for 19 years now.
This entry was posted in Heavenly Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peoples is Peoples

  1. Nice post and now I’m looking up Nerd Nation, thanks.

  2. Raivenne says:

    The world would then pretty much be as John Lennon “Imagined”.We can only hope and pray.

Leave a Reply

