The Power of Words

 

A light bulb went off for me this week. A realisation that made me wish I could tell my younger self and have it sink in.

“Words only have power and meaning because we believe they do”. Now this isn’t to say all words are meaningless or that they have no power.

If you have seen the movie Labyrinth you know the most important phrase of the movie is (spoiler alert stop reading and go watch it if you haven’t seen it)

“YOU HAVE NO POWER OVER ME”

Elinor Roosevelt’s famous quote “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent” has taken on new meaning.

Think about how much drama, hurt, pain, joy, happiness, sadness, anger, hatred, and love can be created with mere words.

Words can create pictures, can take us to places beyond our wildest imaginations, they can also leave deep scars. Here is the coolest bit YOU CAN DECIDE! This is hardly revolutionary but it can make a huge difference to your life should you choose it to.

We spend so much time giving away our personal power, reading into the meanings of other peoples words, trying to baah along with the other sheep that we forget we have the POWER, we have the CHOICE, and we are FREE TO DECIDE.

Now imagine how liberating this is when the penny drops. When you have your ahh ha moment and realise that at any given point you can step out of drama, step away from bullies, take a deep breath and let it all go because their words are not your truth. They are not who you are.

Words have the meaning we assign to them. Words from someone who has meaning and value in our lives often hurt more than the words of a stranger. Why because we assign value to what they say. Because we add in our own meaning to those words, given the circumstances and events that surround those words.

We are constantly adding meaning to everything. Some people spend hours worrying about what added layers and meaning are hidden in what others say.  It would be naive to say that everyone uses words the same way. That no one lies or manipulates with their words. However the reason people get away with this is because we assign meaning to those words. We want to believe so we do often ignoring warning signs along the way.

But that is a post for another day.

There is a sense of peace that comes from the realisation that unless I choose to give a person’s words meaning and value in my life they have absolutely none.

It is liberating to realise I can have a conversation and take someone’s words at face value without assigning my own spin on what they are saying without trying to read into what they are telling me or make it in some way my own.

There is freedom in remembering no matter where you are in life you have choices. You are always free to decide. What amazes me is that we all have those moments where we forget just who is in the driver’s seat. Just who it is that has the power in our own lives.

When you remember how much power and freedom we all have, when you look and go wow.  When you find yourself in the midst of chaos (either yours or others) take a deep breath and remember “Words only have power if we give them that power”

So let’s start a word revolution one where we mean what we say and say what we mean. Where we don’t allow another’s words to damage us because we are assigning meaning to them or allowing them to take our personal power.

It starts with each one of us. I Amanda Christina claim my personal power. Today I will not add meaning to others words. Today I stand tall and proud of whom I am. Today I own my truth. Today I own all of whom I am the good, the not so good and the lessons that still need to be learned. Today I step forth at peace with who I am.

Till next we meet along life’s journey may your words be powerful and may you find your inner peace

 

In Love and Light

Amanda

About heavenlyimaginings

A crafter from the time I was a small child. My love of crafting has developed into a passion for making Artist Original Bears, Scrapbooking, making fascinators and hair accessories, as well as dabbling in other bits and pieces such as making the occasional small bag. I craft on a budget. Try and reuse and recycle where I can (I wish I lived closer to a big reverse cycle garbage type place). In truth I play when I craft. It is such an adventure. Often do not spend time looking for tutorials and tips online preffering to meander though in my own way. After all if you do not know the rules then you have no problems breaking all of them. Have to be honest and say I truly love being pushed out of my creative comfort zone, as it is in those moments that you have to stretch yourself and your imagination that often you create the most amazing works of art. Also passionate about Spirituality. I discovered my psychic gifts at age 19 and have walked along the spiritual path for 19 years now.
This entry was posted in Heavenly Musings, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

