My Religion is Love (or Loosing my Religion)

This blog has been kicking around in my mind for a bit however the urge to write it was just not there as it has been such a busy time in the lead up to one of my favorite times of year.
I don’t know if you know it but there is a television show called Iconoclasts. Not always my cup of tea I will be honest however some really stand out. David Chappelle and Maya Anelou, Richard Branson and Desmond Tutu, Hugh Jackman and a French Chef to name a few.
The one I love the most however is Deepac Chopra and Mike Myers. They talk about so much in that one hour that times flies. The thing I love the most about it is they talk about the relation of laughter and spirituality. Two concepts that seem worlds appart but really are very connected.
Why am I telling you this well to get to the point.(I promiseif you keep reading the icconaclasts reference will make sense) I grew up Catholic. Went to Catholic school till year 10. Was even in my early teens one of those people who did private bible study and always asked a multitude of questions in religion so much so that by year 9 the Nun who taught religion refused to even look at me if I had my hand up because I asked the difficult unanswerable questions.
We were so amazingly lucky in Year 10 to have a religion teacher and a project that took us out of our Catholic Upbringing and let us explore for a whole semester another religion. What is amazing about this is that while you know other religions exist sometimes you end up in your own little bubble or world.
The best part about it is we each had to then do a presentation on that religion and teach the rest of the class about it.
What a way to open someones eyes to whole new cultures and ways of life. To know that there were other options and indeed no religion was also a choice.

It would be a few more years though before I stumbled upon my Spiritual Journey something I still am learning and growing on.
What I miss about Church is the sense of peace and community it can bring however I do not miss a lot of the do as I say not as I do, nor the this is how you should live your life and it is the only way. We are not cookie cutter people so one religion does not fit all. I have great respect for everyones religious beliefs however I take what works for me, what lessons and ideals work for who I am and adapted them to my life. I read a great letter in golden age magazine once where a woman wrote in and said I dont feel like I belong to any religion for the exact same reasons I stated above she said she is a penelopist (or some such) and I feel the same way.
So back to Icconaclasts there is a clip of Deepac doing his radio show and a young boy calls up with exactly the same issue what religion should I say I am and Deepacs answer has become my answer because at its heart is is the truth “Tell them your religion is LOVE”
What an amazing concept. Imagine if indeed the worlds religion was Love. Even now it gives me tingles just remembering and everytime I see a re run of that episode I sit rivited to my tv not even daring to change the chanel in the ad breaks simply because of the Joy and wonder it creates.

So till next we meet on life’s journey no matter what church, what God or Goddess you worship, may your religion be love

In love and light
Amanda

About heavenlyimaginings

A crafter from the time I was a small child. My love of crafting has developed into a passion for making Artist Original Bears, Scrapbooking, making fascinators and hair accessories, as well as dabbling in other bits and pieces such as making the occasional small bag. I craft on a budget. Try and reuse and recycle where I can (I wish I lived closer to a big reverse cycle garbage type place). In truth I play when I craft. It is such an adventure. Often do not spend time looking for tutorials and tips online preffering to meander though in my own way. After all if you do not know the rules then you have no problems breaking all of them. Have to be honest and say I truly love being pushed out of my creative comfort zone, as it is in those moments that you have to stretch yourself and your imagination that often you create the most amazing works of art. Also passionate about Spirituality. I discovered my psychic gifts at age 19 and have walked along the spiritual path for 19 years now.
This entry was posted in Heavenly Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

