Something that has been on my Mind

Something I have noticed and it has been niggling at me this week is that both the Hay House World Summit 2013 and The Daily Love Extravaganza talked a bit about weight loss.

Pretty normal as it is something so strong in our society however what has occurred to me is that no one has presented anything on Health at every size, and yet there is a lot of talk about Loving and Accepting yourself for who you are.

Now before you jump to the conclusion that I am an ungrateful wretch. I have deep gratitude for every moment of both events that I have been a part of.

I think they are amazing events and they do a great deal of good

However being somewhat active in the online size acceptance community. I know size is not always something that can be controlled by diet, exercise and thoughts.

I know many larger people who are active, treat their bodies like temples and are just naturally bigger.

This is where my problem arises. Because an industry that is all about empowerment is actually disempowering a part of their Audience. The subject of women and body image has been a strong theme of TDL Extravaganza this year.

I am not saying every fat person is perfect re diet and exercise etc just like every skinny person is not.

I would love to see speakers like Regan from Dances with Fat as a speaker at one of these events or some of the Heas (Health at Every Size) advocates and authors.

More and more research these days is pointing to body size as no indicator of health.

The Haes movement is such an important one to get behind as it is about adding more movement into your life at your level. Rather than bashing you over the head and saying you have to do x x or y.

The other part of that is that the more you love and accept yourself the more you make healthier choices. However when you are told that it just comes down to how we think, or we are all lying to ourselves.

Thats when I start to wonder at how someone who is bigger, perhaps with low self esteem who is listening and who is hearing you need to learn to love and accept yourself for who you are

and then is hearing you don’t love yourself enough if you need to lose weight or are bigger (this is my perception and I am sure it is not the intent of the speakers to create this) that you can’t possibly love and accept yourself. Or the added assumption that people are not feeding their bodies well.

That’s where I have the problem.

It has taken me a long road to get where I am now. I have worked very hard to love and accept myself and my body.

I have spent 10 years changing my everyday eating habits and moving to a much healthier lifestyle.

 

From my perspective I bake from scratch, make granola, cook 95% of my meals from scratch without using convienience foods to make meals.

My journey is just that my journey. However I find it disempowering when weight loss becomes the focus.

I have spent time focusing on my health and making healthy sustainable changes.

I can admit I am far from perfect. However the more I move along this journey the more I know the consequences of my actions. The more I am learning to balance and choosing to make better choices because I know that’s what my body craves.

Speaking to a nutritionist, doing my own research and finding my own way through information overload in a world that looks at me and tells me everyday how fat and lazy I must be because of my body size.

I was once asked a question in a spiritual group many many years ago and I was amazed at my response as I didn’t think just answered.

“Why are you fat?”

‘To teach others acceptance.’

I now know of course in part it is genetics, some of it is health issues such as PCOS and Insomnia.

But I also know through knowing me many friends along my journey have learned not to be so harsh and judgemental of people they see in the street or to stop avoiding having larger friends.

I just think that empowering others needs to encompass all body types.

Especially as a woman I think it would be revolutionary to have other women who are of size speaking at these events and talking about their journey to self acceptance and loving their curves, lumps and bumps.

I know I still have some obstacles to overcome, I know I am still learning and growing however I also know without a doubt I will never be slender. I may never go down a dress size.

My body may not change in size or shape no matter what I do, then again it might.

For me I do not focus on my size, I focus on my health and loving myself and the life I have.

From an early age there is one lesson my Mother taught me through her example that is priceless ‘to make the most of wherever you are at in life, and to have a sense of humor no matter how bad things may seem’

My thought is this, if enough of us ask for it, if enough of us stand up and say hey can we please hear about Heas or from Plus Size (and by plus size I mean size 16 upwards) women who have empowered themselves and embraced who they are size and all.

That perhaps the next time these events are run then we will have a more balanced view represented. Imagine how empowered we would all become, imagine how many women would be empowered to move past their body issues. How much self esteem could grow and most of all how much others could benefit, grow and become less judgemental of those they really have no knowledge or understanding of.

The shift’s that could occur from such interactions could be revolutionary.

Till next we meet on life’s journey remember ‘judge not least ye be judged’

 

In Love and Light

 

Amanda

About heavenlyimaginings

A crafter from the time I was a small child. My love of crafting has developed into a passion for making Artist Original Bears, Scrapbooking, making fascinators and hair accessories, as well as dabbling in other bits and pieces such as making the occasional small bag. I craft on a budget. Try and reuse and recycle where I can (I wish I lived closer to a big reverse cycle garbage type place). In truth I play when I craft. It is such an adventure. Often do not spend time looking for tutorials and tips online preffering to meander though in my own way. After all if you do not know the rules then you have no problems breaking all of them. Have to be honest and say I truly love being pushed out of my creative comfort zone, as it is in those moments that you have to stretch yourself and your imagination that often you create the most amazing works of art. Also passionate about Spirituality. I discovered my psychic gifts at age 19 and have walked along the spiritual path for 19 years now.
This entry was posted in Heavenly Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

